Day 1132 – Q is for Quiet

We spent the day getting settled, and we did not drive the 1.5 hrs to Havasu City for the Balloon Festival. It would have been cool to go, like 48 degrees cool, and we decided to play around here instead.

David and I started our day with a walk.  There are so many RV’s around us; it is fun to check out the rigs, and see how each group sets themselves up a little different from the next.  Our group is small at the moment – 3 rigs.  Once the Blythe Bluegrass Festival wraps this weekend, we will surely see a few more Hitchhiker friends.  This is what we looked like around 9 am:

Q and Q Day 2
Q and Q Day 2

After breakfast, I drove Hannah around town, and we looked for a place to drop off our garbage.  That proved to be very difficult, as we could not seem to find an unlocked dumpster for the life of us.  I think I need to check the dump schedule, as we did pass a transfer station.  I am sure the good people of Quartzsite would like us RV’ers to take our trash to the transfer station rather than fill up the dumpsters behind the businesses in town.

The town was really hopping, and the “Show” doesn’t start until tomorrow. We were going to stop and look at some of the booths at the outdoor market, but parking was already an issue, so we skipped it for today.

Once we returned to the RV, David and Hannah took off for a ride.  They just went down the road towards Bouse, and were all smiles upon their return, as you can see.

While they were out, I made David’s favorite biscotti.  Since we are going to be working for the next three days, I figured this was the last chance that I would have to get some baking done.  I baked some potatoes while I was mixing the cookies, then after I baked the cookies, I moved right into dinner.  I didn’t really have to make dinner tonight, as David and I had a Amazon training dinner to attend, but as you can imagine, it is quite a challenge to find food at a restaurant that follows our eating habits.  It is usually in our best interest to eat ahead of time.

For dinner:

Polenta Pizza
Polenta Pizza

This is one of those meal ideas that has its origins in a recipe that I grew up with, and then I modified it for us.  My mom used to make “Little Pizzas” – Pillsbury biscuits, flattened on a cookie sheet, topped with tomato paste, ground beef cooked with onions, and topped with cheese.  Baked and devoured!

For my updated version, I take a roll of polenta (found at Trader Joe’s or Walmart) and slice it.  The slices are put on parchment paper on a cookie sheet.  I then mix minced garlic with tomato paste, and spread the paste on the polenta rounds.  Next, I add veggies.  Tonight it was sliced zucchini, a kale greens blend and onions.  I season it all with a rosemary garlic blend, some Italian seasoning, and top it with nutritional yeast.  This is baked for 15-20 minutes at around 350 degrees.  If I have just pure kale as the topping, I cook it until the kale is crispy.

I also experimented with some to the potatoes that I baked earlier, as seen in this picture.

David and I then left to attend our training dinner with the Amazon team.  As we drove to the Mountain Quail Cafe, we witnessed a gorgeous sunset:

Start of Sunset
Start of Sunset

as we were driving:

Spectacular
Spectacular

I just wanted to stop and watch it; the colors were so interesting.

Once at the diner, we waited for the rest of our group, then had a nice meeting in the back of the restaurant.  The place was packed, and the wait staff seemed surprised by the volume.

We are now ready to start our 3 days at the Big Tent.  See, we are official:

Name Tags
Name Tags

This should be fun! I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow night.

I’m glad we could have this chat,

Nancy

One thought on “Day 1132 – Q is for Quiet

Leave a comment